Ok, I think I’m ready. All preparations have been checked and accounted for…I think.

Tomorrow begins NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and the challenge is set to write a 50,000 word novel in the thirty days of November. For most of those taking the challenge it equates to something like just fewer than 1700 words per day.  A normal challenge by itself it can be a daunting task, especially in the home stretch.  I however, not content with the normal aspects of a challenge had to make it harder on myself.  You see, I won’t really have the opportunity or access to write on the weekends, and so it drastically hits the time I have to write.  It also wasn’t until this morning when I’m working out my writing schedule that I have to take into account Thanksgiving weekend as additional days that I won’t be able to write (goodbye 24th and 25th).  So this leaves me with 20 days to write a 50,000 word novel.

Ok, this is doable, right? So I’ve adjusted my writing schedule with how many words per day and what chapters I need to write and the summary of what happens so really all that should remain is just to open up and type.  Besides, this schedule is really more of a guide line, so if I get it in my head to write more on my lighter days (I hope that happens all the time) then I can really stay ahead of my scheduled word count.  That sounds good doesn’t it?

I mean there have been some really iconic movie screenplays written in short amounts of time. Breakfast Club was written in two days.  Ferris Buller’s Day Off was written in 6 days.  Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard wrote Cabin in the Woods in just 3 days.  Not that I’m equating my writing at all to the likes of Whedon or Hughes, but if they can crack stuff like that out in less than a week, I can fumble my way through a book in a month.

So whether I’m ready or not (I think I’m ready) I start tomorrow. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

